Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Francis tutors in Tokyo, Japan

Francis H.

Private tutor in Tokyo, Japan

Education

-Research student at The University of Tokyo in the area of Machine Learning for Furukawa Electric Co. -Masters in Robotics at the top Danish Engineering University, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet. -Undergraduate in Mechatronics, University of Cape Town.

Experience

I was a tutor during my entire undergraduate degree. I have tutored students between grade 5 and up to 3rd year university students. My native language is English. I strongly believe students should be taught a solid base of relevant knowledge before tackling problems. In this way they will first try to understand the problem rather than just attempting to solve it and hope that it is correct. My notable tutoring positions are as follows: -After school Mathematics instructor for children between the ages of 11 to 16. -Head tutor of a Robotics School Program, called ClubElectron. -Teaching Assistant and mentor for my undergraduate Electrical Engineering department. One of the aspects I enjoy most about tutoring is being able to see your student improve and develop. Teaching is a truly a rewarding passion.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I would say my biggest hobby is reading. I tend to enjoy non-fiction with the occasional fantasy series to get yourself lost in another world. Otherwise I enjoy hiking, drawing, surfing, building fun robotics. Favorite books: 1984, George Orwell. Guns Germs and Steel, Jared Diamond. Mirror of the gods, Malcolm Bull. Favorite Areas in Japan: Kamikochi for hiking. Kamakura for surfing. Absolutely loved Kyoto for obvious reasons. Would love to visit Okinawa and Izu Islands this spring! I am a passionate person who truly enjoys what he studies. Once I finish with my Masters I would like to return to Todai for my PhD.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!